The dedicated staff who run the Technology Lab can be found at the Service Desk, which is near the northeast end of the basement corridor and is the school's central location for printing, plotting, large format scanning, help desk services, and digital equipment checkout.  If you need to contact the Service Desk, please call 512.471.1189 or email soatechdesk@utexas.edu.

Please note that use of SOA Technology Services including printing, plotting, and digital fabrication is restricted members of the SOA community.

Faculty and staff of SOA also have access, subject to certain restrictions. Please contact Eric Hepburn for more information.
 

Hours of Operation

Fall & Spring Semesters

MON-Thurs

8am-10pm

FRI

8am-6pm

SAT

10am-6pm

SUN

10am-10pm

Regular Exceptions

  • During fall and spring semesters, the Service Desk is closed on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11am to noon for staff meetings and trainings.
  • The Computer Classrooms are open extended hours, but support is only available when the Service Desk is open.

Holidays & Schedule Exceptions

Normal hours for the Technology Lab and Service Desk are top right of this page.

2017-18 Exceptions

  • Intersession - Service Desk closed
    • Saturday August 11 through Sunday August 27, 2017
  • Pre-Semester Start - Service Desk open 9am to 5pm
    • Monday August 28 & Tuesday Aug
  • Labor Day - Service Desk closed
    • At 6pm Sunday September 3
    • Monday September 4
  • Thanksgiving - Service Desk closed
    • At 6pm Tuesday November 21
    • Wednesday November 22 through Saturday November 25
  • Final Exams - Reduced Hours
    • Service Desk Open 10am - 6pm on Saturday & Sunday, December 9-10
    • Service Desk Open 8am - 6pm on Monday through Friday, December 11-15
    • Service Desk Closed Saturday & Sunday, December 16-17
    • Service Desk Open 8am - 6pm on Monday through Wednesday, December 18-20
  • Winter Intersession & MLK Day - Service Desk closed
    • Thursday December 21 through Monday January 15, 2018
  • Spring Break (first weekend) - Service Desk closed
    • Saturday March 10 and Sunday March 11
  • Spring Break (weekdays) - Service Desk open 9am to 5pm
    • Monday March 12 through Friday March 16
      Normal hours resume Saturday March 17
  • Final Exams - Reduced Hours
    • Service Desk Open 10am - 6pm on Saturday & Sunday, May 5-6
    • Service Desk Open 8am - 6pm on Monday through Friday, May 7-11
    • Service Desk Closed Saturday & Sunday, May 12-13
    • Service Desk Open 8am - 6pm on Monday & Tuesday, May 14-15
  • Spring intersession - Service Desk closed
    • Wednesday May 16 through Thursday June 1

Payment Options

For students, all pay-for-service resources such as printing, plotting, digital fabrication subscriptions, 3D printing will be billed to What I Owe within 2-3 business days. Purchasing consumable items such as CNC blades/bits, binding combs, etc. must be paid for using the Bevo Bucks system. Faculty and staff may charge these items and services to a UT account.
 

ITS Help Desk

For general help with a desktop or laptop, operating system issues, wireless network access, email, or other university-wide technologies, students should contact the ITS Help Desk at 512-475-9400 or visit them at the Flawn Academic Center (FAC), room 200-B.