Gary Wang


Gary Wang has been an educator and practitioner throughout his career, and at UTSOA teaches design at both the Undergraduate and Graduate levels, with a focus on urbanism and the built environment. He has taught advanced design studios, integrated studios, construction, and introductory courses in architecture.

Gary is principal-in-charge of Wang Architects, an award-winning architecture and masterplanning firm whose work has been featured in numerous articles and publications. Their children’s educational theater was the 2022 recipient of the Design Excellence Award from the Texas Masonry Institute. An urban infill building built entirely with uncut brick modules was nominated for Building of the Year by ArchDaily Magazine in 2022. Another project by Wang Architects received the President’s Award from the Texas Downtown Association.

Prior to founding Wang Architects, Gary lived and practiced in Chicago, Boston, and New York City. He led projects for some of the country’s most prestigious firms, including Machado and Silvetti, Jonathan Levi Architects, and Tigerman McCurry. Gary was an Associate Professor of Architecture at Judson University, where he helped guide a new architecture program through the NAAB accreditation process. He has been a visiting critic at institutions across the US, including Yale University, Harvard Graduate School of Design, Northeastern University, UNLV, and LSU among others. Gary was also a Booth Fellow for the University of Michigan.

Gary has served on the AIA Austin Design Awards Committee and chaired the Honors Awards Committee. Gary currently serves as an appointed council member of the National Ethics Council for the American Institute of Architects in Washington, DC.


  • BS in Architecture, University of Michigan
  • Master of Architecture, University of Michigan
Gary Wang Headshot
  • Design Theory
  • Urbanism and Design for the Public Realm
  • Ethics in Architecture 

Advanced Design Studios

Intermediate Design Studios

Comprehensive Studios


More faculty

See all faculty

Steven Moore

Professor Emeritus

Larry Speck


Francisco Gomes

Associate Professor